top of page
Cuvier chateau Maurac

VINIFICATION AND AGING

Act 1: from the vine to the vat room

Harvest.   With the conviction that wine is firstly made in the vineyard, the grapes are picked when ripe and in the best possible sanitary condition. This objective guides all our actions. We taste, observe the progress of each plot in order to adapt the harvest date. The harvest is mechanical and lasts approximately 6 to 7 days. When they arrive at the vat room, the grapes are de-stemmed and selected on the sorting table then transported to the vats to begin their fermentation.

The vat room.   As in the vineyards, the work in the cellar is carried out with great simplicity: listening and attention. 16 temperature-controlled stainless steel vats with a capacity of 4 to 150 HL to isolate the plots and grape varieties. This work of plot differentiation, although more constraining in terms of organization, is essential in the production of our different wines (Maurac, Vignes de Cabaleyran, Les Jumelles) . Modestly, we try to express the richness of this mosaic of terroir.

Cuve inox maurac
Chai à barriques chateau Maurac

Act 2: from the vat room to the cellar

The barrel cellar.   Functional, quiet, without artifice. After vinification, the wines are lowered into barrels where they will age between 12 and 18 months depending on the vintage. Little intervention: no racking, little topping up, regular tasting to follow the evolution of the aging process. The use of new wood is done sparingly, in order to preserve the identity of the fruit. As for vinification, the plots are aged separately and will evolve differently in contact with wood. 

Act 3: from the cellar to the bottle

Assembly. A first theoretical assembly is carried out after the vinifications then a second time 12 months later, at the end of the aging, in order to confirm or improve our choices.

This blending work will draw the contours of our 3 wines, made up of different plots and grape varieties: Maurac, the property's main wine. Croix de Cabaleyran, selection of young plots of Merlot. Vignes de Cabaleyran, selection of old plots of gravel.

The bottling is carried out without fining with a light filtration. The wines then wait 6 months in the cellar to stabilize.

assemblage chateau maurac
bottom of page

Cuvier chateau Maurac

VINIFICATION ET ÉLEVAGE

Acte 1 : de la vigne au cuvier

La récolte. Avec la conviction que le vin se fait d'abord à la vigne, le raisin est cueilli à bonne maturité et dans le meilleur état sanitaire possible. Cet objectif guide tous nos gestes. Nous goûtons, observons l'avancement de chaque parcelle afin d'y adapter la date de récolte. Les vendanges sont mécaniques et durent environ 6 à 7 jours. En arrivant au cuvier les raisins sont éraflés et sélectionnés sur table de tri.

Le cuvier. Comme dans les vignes, le travail au chai est réalisé avec beaucoup de simplicité: de l'écoute et de l'attention. 16 cuves thermorégulées en inox d'une contenance de 4 à 150 HL pour isoler les parcelles et les cépages. Ce travail de différentiation parcellaire, bien que plus contraignant en termes d'organisation, est indispensable dans l'élaboration de nos différents vins (Maurac, Vignes de Cabaleyran, Croix de Cabaleyran). Modestement, nous essayons d'exprimer la richesse de cette mosaïque de terroir.

Cuve inox maurac
Chai à barriques chateau Maurac

Acte 2: du cuvier au chai à barriques

Le chai à barriques. Fonctionnel, silencieux, sans artifices. Après vinification, les vins sont descendus en barriques où ils vont grandir entre 12 et 18 mois en fonction des millésimes. Peu d'intervention: pas de soutirage, léger ouillage, dégustation régulière pour suivre l'évolution de l'élevage. L'utilisation de bois neuf se fait avec parcimonie, afin de conserver l'identité du fruit. Comme pour les vinifications, les parcelles sont élevées séparément et vont évoluer différemment au contact du bois. 

Acte 3 : du chai à la bouteille

L'assemblage. Un premier assemblage théorique est réalisé après les vinifications puis une seconde fois 12 mois plus tard, à la fin de l'élevage, afin de confirmer ou améliorer nos choix.

Ce travail d'assemblage va dessiner les contours de nos 3 vins, composés de parcelles et cépages différents: Maurac, grand vin de la propriété. Croix de Cabaleyran, sélection des jeunes parcelles de merlot. Vignes de Cabeleyran, sélection des vieilles parcelles de graves.

La mise en bouteille est réalisée sans collage avec une légère filtration. Les vins attendent ensuite 6 mois en cave afin de se stabiliser.

assemblage chateau maurac